ANNOUNCEMENTS

Awards

The Harvey Prize in Science and Technology for 1980 has been awarded to **Professor Michael O. Rabin** (Hebrew University); the Harvey Prize in Human Health for 1979 is awarded to **Professor Ephraim Racker**, (Cornell University).

The Hamburg Foundation Jung-Stiftung für Wissenschaft und Forschung has awarded the Ernst-Jung-Prize for medicine 1980 to Sir Alan Parks, (St Mark's Hospital, London).

The 1st Margaret Grant Memorial Fellowship has been awarded to **E. Shyam Prasad Reddy** (Centre for Cellular and Molecular Biology, Regional Research Laboratory, Hyderabad, India).

The following Junior Beit Fellowships for Medical Research have been awarded: David John Adams; Ian Brown; Elizabeth Gready Hill; Elinor Nancy Lupton; Alexandra Marie Thomson.

The Geological Society of London has made the following awards for 1980: The Wollaston Medal to **Professor Augusto Gansser**; The Murchison Medal to **Professor J.V. Smith**; The Lyell Medal; to **Professor J.R.L. Allen**; The William Smith Medal to **Mr G. Armstrong**; The Wollaston Fund, Murchison Fund and equal moieties of the Lyell Fund to **Drs R.H. Sibson, M.P. Coward, G.S. Boulton** and **M.R. Leeder**, respectively; The President's Awards to **Drs A.P. Heward**, **J.K. Leggett** and **B.W.D. Yardley**.

The Institute of Physics has made the following awards for 1980: Charles Vernon Boys Prize to Dr A.E. Costley (National Physical Laboratory, Teddington); DuddellMedal and Prize to Professor A.V. Crewe (University of Chicago); Max Born Medal and Prize to Professor Dr H. Faissner (Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule, Aachen); Glazebrook Medal and Prize to Mr M.C. Crowley-Milling (CERN, Geneva); Guthrie Medal and Prize to Professor M.E. Fisher (Cornell University); Maxwell Medal and Prize to Professor D.J. Wallace (University of Edinburgh); Rutherford Medal and Prize to Professor P.G. Murphy (University of Manchester) and Dr J.J. Thresher (Rutherford Laboratory, Didcot): Prize for the 1979 Graduateship Examination of the Institute to Mr D.B.Mackay (Napier College of Commerce and Technology, Edinburgh); Honorary Fellowship of the Institute to Professor V.F. Weisskopf (Massachusetts Institute of Technology).

Person to person

The Bioelectrochemical Society (BES) has been founded with the aim of stimulating cooperation among all scientists interested in the investigation, interpretation and practical utilization of biological phenomena by using electrochemical theories and methods. For information apply to Prof. Dr H.W. Nürnberg, Institute of Chemistry 4 Applied Physical Chemistry, Nuclear Research Center, PO Box 1913, D-5170 Jülich, FRG.

In 1967 a meeting of British research workers in the mucopolysaccharide field resulted in the formation of a Club. One of the first meetings, with the French Connective Tissue Club in Paris lead to the formation of the Federation of European Connective Tissue Societies FECTS which met for the first time in 1968. In September (1980) the Collagen Club and the Mucopolysaccharide Club come together to form the British Connective Tissue Society.

Information on intra-thecal overdoses of penicillin is required by J.L. Kay, 14 Ardayre Rd, Prestwick, Scotland. Any factual documented source would be helpful, perhaps reference to toxic effects, such as to the brain and central nervous system, clincial tests, possibly information on animal experiments in related fields and LD 50 tests.

Harvard professor seeks for January 1981 to June 1981 furnished house or flat, preferably in Central London, suitable for two persons plus guest room and study. No children or pets! If exchange is desired: Our 3-bedroomed house is in Lexington (Boston area), 15 min from Harvard, 20 min from MIT, MGH, on 1 acre among trees. Write to Mrs G. Holton, 14 Trotting Horse Drive, Lexington, Massachusetts 02173.

A scientist would like to exchange for 1 year beginning September 1980 — 3-bedroomed house in an attractive Jerusalem suburb (4 miles from University campus, convenient to University and Medical centres, fully furnished for similar or smaller house or apartment in London. M. Goldberg, Bet Zeit 63, D.N. Harei Yehuda, Israel.

Appointments

Dr J.E. Eastoe is appointed to the Chair of Oral Physiology in the University of Newcastle upon Tyne from 1 October 1980.

Dr David Phillips has been appointed to the new Wolfson Chair of Natural Philosophy in the Royal Institution which was recently endowed by the Wolfson Foundation.

Professor M.H. Williams, currently Professor of Computer Science at Rhodes University, Grahamstown, South Africa, has been appointed to the Chair of Computer Science at Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh.

Professor Harold W. Woolhouse has been appointed Director of the John Innes Institute, Norwich, and Professor of Biology in the School of Biological Sciences at the University of East Anglia from 1 October 1980.

Dr Paul Freeman has been appointed Director of the Department of Industry's National Engineering Laboratory at East Kilbride to succeed **Mr Denis Mallinson**.

Meetings

16-18 July, **Tropical Animal Production**, Merida (Centre for Tropical Animal Production, Escuela de Medicina Veterinaria, Universidad de Yucatan, Apartado 116D, Merida, Mexico).

21-15 July, Soil Conservation, Bedford (Dr R. Morgan, NCAE, Silsoe, Bedford, UK). 23-25 July, **590th Meeting of the Biochemical Society**, Sheffield (The Biochemical Society, 7 Warwick Court, High Holborn, London WC1, UK).

1-4 September, Environment and Safety Exhibition and Conference, London (International Environment and Safety Exhibition and Conference, London (International Environment and Safety, Labmate Ltd, Newgate, Sandpit Lane, St Albans, Herts, UK).

3-5 September, **Polymerization Mecha**nisms, Liverpool, (Dr John Gibson, The Royal Society of Chemistry, Burlington House, London W1, UK).

9-11 September, Industry and Environment, Loughborough (Administrative Officer, I & E Conference, University of Technology, Loughborough, Leicestershire, UK).

15-18 September, Oxygen and Life, Birmingham (Dr J.F. Gibson, The Royal Society of Chemistry, Burlington House, London W1, UK).

15-19 September, Management Studies for Chemists, Slough (Miss L. Hart, The Royal Society of Chemistry, 30 Russell Square, London WC1, UK).