was, however, reported at conferences and has been acknowledged in the literature.

More recently he pioneered the use of analytical techniques in combination. He developed and reported various techniques for recording spectra of gas chromatography fractions and he had new techniques of this type under development at the time of his death.

University News

The following appointments have been made in the University of Edinburgh: Mr G. B. Oddie to the Robert Adam chair of architecture; Dr G. B. Wilson to the chair of architectural science; Dr A. H. Cook to the chair of geophysics; Dr F. Alexander to a personal chair in veterinary pharmacology.

Mr Stanley L. Wright, principal of Edinburgh College of Art, has been appointed to the newly established chair of applied design at Heriot-Watt University.

The following appointments have been made at the University of Newcastle upon Tyne: Pro-vice-chancellor, Professor N. J. Petch, William Cochrane professor of metallurgy, head of the Department of Metallurgy and honorary director of the Science Research Council Unit on Brittle Fracture; Dean of Medicine, Professor G. A. Smart, professor of medicine. Dr N. C. Freeman has been appointed to the second chair in mathematics.

Professor A. V. Johnson, University of Nottingham, has been appointed professor of chemistry at the University of Sussex.

The Duke of Abercorn is to be the first chancellor of the new University of Ulster.

Dr R. P. Spencer has been promoted to professor of nuclear medicine and Dr A. Bouhuys has been promoted to professor of medicine and epidemiology in the Yale University School of Medicine.

Announcements

Sir Barnes Wallis has been awarded the Albert Medal of the Royal Society of Arts for his contribution to the development of aeronautical science and engineering.

Dr H. D. Turner, assistant registrar in the University of Sheffield, has been appointed to succeed Sir Norman Wright as secretary of the British Association for the Advancement of Science. Mr R. P. Saville has been appointed assistant secretary.

The following elections were made at the Anniversary Meeting of the Linnean Society of London: president, Professor A. R. Clapham; treasurer, The Earl of Cranbrook; secretaries, Mr J. P. M. Brenan (botany), Dr P. H. Greenwood (zoology), Dr Doris M. Kermack (editorial); members of council, Professor O. M. B. Bulamn, Professor A. J. E. Cave, Mr F. R. Goodenough, Professor V. H. Heywood, Professor D. H. Valentine; foreign members, Professor A. Fernandes (Portugal), Dr F. Stafleu (Holland). Dr K. L. Alvin, The Earl of Cranbrook, Dr C. T. Prime and Dr M. E. Varley were appointed vice-presidents. Linnean gold medals were presented to Professor Alastair Graham and Professor Thomas Maxwell Harris and the H. H. Bloomer award for an amateur naturalist was presented to the Hon. Miriam Rothschild.

The trustees of the Lady Tata Memorial Fund for research in leukaemia and allied disorders have made the following awards for 1968-69: Fellowship, Miss E. Davidson (University of Edinburgh); Scholarships, Dr V. Balazs (University of Leiden), Dr M. M. Fröhlich (Leiden University), Dr R. Hancock (Swiss Institute for Experimental Cancer Research), Dr O. Mach (Institute

of Haematology and Blood Transfusion, Prague), Miss A. M. Tomkys (ARC Institute of Animal Physiology, Babraham), Dr P. Stryckmans (Institut Jules Bordet, Brussels); Expenses grant, Dr D. Viza (Hôpital Saint-Louis, Paris).

The Smithsonian Institution has awarded visiting research associateships to the following: Dr K. Apparao (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Bombay); Dr Philippa Black (Harvard University); Dr V. Buchwald (Arizona State University); Dr W. Cernohorsky (Emperor Gold Mining Company, Fiji); Dr E. R. de la Sota (La Plata University); Dr D. M. Devaney (Bernice P. Bishop Museum, Honolulu); Dr L. J. Hickey (Princeton University); Professor H. L. Li (University of Pennsylvania); Mr P. Malone (Case Western Reserve University); Dr B. Runnegar (University of New England, Armidale).

Applications are invited by Schering Chemicals Ltd, Berlin, for the Schoeller-Junkmann-Preiss 1969 which is worth 15,000 DM. Applicants, who should be less than 40 years of age and permanently resident in Europe, should submit unpublished manuscripts dealing with work in endocrinology (excluding studies of diabetes mellitus) before November 15 to Professor J. Zander, Direktor der Universitäts-Frauenklinik, 69 Heidelberg, Voss-Strasse 9, Germany.

The Australian Academy of Science invites applications for the Selby Fellowship from graduates in any branch of physical or biological science who hold a PhD degree or have equivalent status and experience and who wish to work for one year in Australia. Candidates should state the nature of the research they wish to undertake and the university department or research institution preferred. Further information is available from the Executive Secretary, Australian Academy of Science, Gordon Street, Canberra City, ACT 2601, Australia.

Meetings

July 21–26, Animal Reproduction and Artificial Insemination, Paris (Maison de la Chimie, 28 rue St Dominique, Paris 7).

August 18-23, Thermal Analysis, Worcester, Massachusetts (Dr C. B. Murphy, Xerox Corporation, PO Box 1540, Rochester, New York, USA).

August 25-31, 24th International Congress of Physiological Sciences, Washington, DC (Secretariat, 9650 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, Maryland 20014, USA).

August 26–28, **Haemophilia**, Montreal (World Federation of Hemophilia, 122 Arlington Avenue, Montreal 6, Quebec, Canada).

August 26-31, Land Evaluation, Canberra (Mr G. A. Stewart, Division of Land Research, CSIRO, PO Box 109, Canberra City, ACT, Australia).

September 1-3, Regulation of Food and Water Intake, Haverford, Pennsylvania (Dr A. N. Epstein, Leidy Laboratory of Biology, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19104, USA).

September 1-7, European Regional Conference on Electron Microscopy, Rome (Dr Steve Bocciarelli, Istituto Superiore di Sanità, Viale Regina Elena 299, 00161 Rome, Italy).

September 2-6, Fermentation Advances in the Light of Recent Theoretical Progress in Microbiology, Biochemistry and Engineering, New Brunswick (Third International Fermentation Symposium, Rutgers, the State University, New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA).

September 3-6, Macromolecular Chemistry, Toronto (Organizing Committee, Box 932, Terminal A, Toronto, Canada).