University of Pennsylvania ; Prof. H. G. Drickamer, professor of chemical engineering and physical chemistry, University of Illinois ; Prof. W. R. Garner, professor of Baychology, Johns Hopkins University; Prof. L. S. Goodman, professor of pharmacology, University of Utah; Prof. S. Granick, member and professor, Rockefeller Institute, New York; Prof. J. H. Greenberg, professor of anthropology, Stanford University; Prof. I. C. Gunsalus, professor of biochomistry, University of Illinois; Dr. L. J. Haworth, director, U.S. National Science Foundation ; Prof. T. L. Hill, professor of chemistry, University of Oregon ; Prof. L. O. Jacobson, professor of medicine and director, Argonne Cancer Research Hospital, University of Chicago ; Dr. C. L. Johnson, vice-president for advanced development projects, Lockheed Aircraft Corporation ; Prof. H. S. Johnston, professor of chemistry, University of California, Berkeley; Prof. M. Kac, pro-fessor, Rockefeller Institute, New York; Prof. L. M. Lederman, professor of physics and director, Nevis Laboratories, Columbia University; Prof. B. T. Matthias, professor of physics, University of California, San Diego, and member, Physical Research Laboratory, Bell Telephone Laboratories ; Prof. H. M. McConnell, professor of chemistry, Stanford University; Prof. C. D. Michener, Elizabeth M. Watkins distinguished professor of entomology, University of Kansas; Prof. D. Nachmansohn, professor of biochemistry, Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons; Prof. J. R. Pappenheimer, visiting professor of physiology, and career investigator of the American Heart Association, Harvard Medical School ; Dr. W. T. Pecora, chief geologist, U.S. Geological Survey ; Prof. G. Pincus, research professor of biology, Boston University, and research director, Worcester Foundation for Experimental Biology; Dr. J. A. Shannon, director, National Institutes of Health; Prof. S. Spiegelman, professor of microbiology, University of Illinois ; Prof. A. Tarski, professor of mathematics, University of California, Berkeley ; Dr. E. Weber, president, Polytech-nic Institute of Brooklyn ; Dr. W. R. Wedel, head curator of anthropology, U.S. National Museum ; Prof. Chen Ning Yang, professor of theoretical physics, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton.

### The Australian Academy of Science

At the annual general meeting on April 29 of the Australian Academy of Science, the following elections were announced:

## Officers

President, Sir Macfarlane Burnet, in succession to Sir Thomas Cherry; Secretary (Physical Sciences), Dr. A. L. G. Rees, chairman of the C.S.I.R.O. Chemical Research Laboratories, Melbourne; Secretary (Biological Sciences), Dr. D. F. Watenhouse, chief of the C.S.I.R.O. Division of Entomology, Canberra; Treasurer, Prof. A. H. Ennor, professor of biochemistry, Australian National University, Canberra.

#### New Fellows

Dr. J. G. Bolton, chief research officer, C.S.I.R.O. Division of Radiophysics, Sydney; distinguished for his contributions to radio-astronomy, including the first identification of radio stars with visual objects.

Prof. R. D. Brown, professor of chemistry, Monash University, Melbourne; distinguished for his pioneering and extensive contributions to theoretical chemistry.

Dr. D. R. Curtis, professorial fellow, John Curtin School of Medical Research, Australian National University, Canberra; distinguished for his contributions to neuropharmacology, particularly by precise investigations on single nerve cells.

Prof. W. H. Elliott, professor of biochemistry, University of Adelaide; distinguished for his contributions to biochemistry, particularly the discovery and elucidation of several enzyme systems.

Prof. G. R. A. Ellis, professor of physics, University of Tasmania, Hobart; distinguished for his experimental and theoretical studies of geophysical and cosmic phenomena, including ionospheric radio wave propagation and extra-terrestrial radio noise.

Prof. K. Mahler, Department of Mathematics, Institute of Advanced Studies, Australian National University, Canberra; distinguished for his fundamental contributions to pure mathematics, in particular to the theory of numbers.

## Second Chair of Mathematics in the Battersea College of Technology : Prof. W. E. Williams

DR. W. E. WILLIAMS, at present senior lecturer in the Department of Applied Mathematics of the University of Liverpool, has been appointed to a second chair in mathematics in the Battersea College of Technology. Dr. Williams graduated with first-class honours in mathematics in the University of Manchester in 1951, and was awarded the degrees of Ph.D. and D.Sc. of the same University in 1954 and 1964, respectively. During the session 1954-55 he was a research associate of New York University, and during the period 1955-57 he carried out mathematical investigations for the English Electric Co., Ltd., at Luton. He was awarded a British Council fellowship in 1960 to enable him to visit Holland and there discuss, with a number of Dutch mathematicians, certain problems on which he was then working; while in Holland he delivered an invited lecture at the Mathematical Centre in Amsterdam. Dr. Williams has many research publications to his name. He was originally interested in special problems of electromagnetic diffraction, and was able to devise a method for solving what was then considered to be an intractable problem. The method he developed led him to a consideration of the development of methods for the solution of boundary value problems occurring in diffraction theory, electrostatics, water-wave theory, elastostatics, thermo-elasticity and magnetohydrodynamics. The work that Dr. Williams has done, and is doing, is highly regarded not only in Britain but also in the United States and in Germany.

# Second Chair of Physics in the University of East Anglia : Prof. N. E. Cusack

DR. N. E. CUSACK, reader in physics at Birkbeck College, London, has been appointed to the second chair of physics in the University of East Anglia. Dr. Cusack, after attending the Northern Polytechnic, worked from 1942 until 1945 in the Armaments Research Department of the Ministry of Supply on Exterior Ballistics. During this time he attended the Sir John Cass College and later took a London external degree by private study. Following the Second World War he was introduced into nuclear physics by Dr. S. Rowlands while demonstrator at St. Mary's Hospital Medical School. In 1948 Dr. Cusack moved to Birkbeck College as assistant lecturer (later lecturer and reader), where, working under the late Mr. R. Siday, he obtained a Ph.D. degree for research on positron scattering. After some years he was drawn toward solid- and liquid-state physics, eventually transferring his attention to metal physics with special reference to the liquid state, his particular field of studies becoming electron transport and positron annihilation in liquid metals and more recently metallic properties in the range of temperature and pressure between the boiling and critical points. Dr. Cusack has now an established reputation in this field. He has attended many meetings and given lectures in Great Britain, the United States and Czechoslovakia. Dr. Cusack, besides being author of many special papers, reports and some popular articles, has written a well-established text-book on the electrical and magnetic properties of solids. His work is rooted in a detailed knowledge and penetrating studies of contemporary ideas of the structure of liquids which makes him an efficient teacher and leader of his team.