accompanied by an honorarium of 1,000 dollars, have been sponsored by the ADL Foundation, of Arthur D. Little, Inc., Mass. The first two recipients were Dr. Nicholas Kurti of the University of Oxford (1957) and Lev Davydovich Landau of the Academy of Soviet Sciences (1959).

## Reorganization of the Atomic Physics Division at the National Bureau of Standards, Washington

DR. KARL G. KESSLER has been appointed chief of the Atomic Physics Division of the National Bureau of Standards, U.S. Department of Commerce, and Dr. William C. Martin, Dr. Robert P. Madden, Dr. Harold Boyne and Dr. Wolfgang L. Wiese have been named to head reorganized sections of the Division. Dr. Kessler will direct a programme of basic research on wave-length standards, spectroscopy, solid-state physics, interactions of the freeelectron, atomic constants, and laboratory astro-physics. He succeeds Dr. L. M. Branscomb, who has joined the National Bureau of Standards-University of Colorado Joint Institute for Laboratory Astrophysics at Boulder, Colorado. Dr. Martin will succeed Dr. Kessler as chief of the Spectroscopy Section. A Far-Ultra-violet Physics Section, headed by Dr. Madden, has been formed to develop radiation standards in the far-ultra-violet spectral region and instrumentation for the investigation of this region. The Section will also investigate the effect of farultra-violet radiation on the properties of materials and conduct basic research on the physical phenomena which involve quantitative measurement of farultra-violet radiation. Dr. Wiese will be in charge of the new Plasma Spectroscopy Section. This Section will make experimental and theoretical determinations of atomic transition probabilities and lifetimes of excited atomic states, prepare bibliographies on atomic transition probabilities, and tabulate the available numerical data. In addition, spectroscopic techniques for the diagnostics of dense plasmas will be studied and refined, and the shape and shift of spectral lines will be investigated. The Atomic Physics Section will now be headed by Dr. Boyne. He replaces Dr. S. J. Smith, who has also joined the Joint Institute for Laboratory Astrophysics. No changes have been made in the remaining sections. Dr. E. K. Plyler will continue to be in charge of the Infra-red Spectroscopy Section, Dr. H. P. R. Frederikse heads the Solid State Physics Section, and Dr. J. A. Simpson heads the Electron Physics Section.

## New Research Laboratory for Reactor Centrum Nederland at Petten

THE firm of Bredero's Bouwbedrijf Nederland is to build a general laboratory on the Reactor Centrum Nederland site at Petten in collaboration with the Engineering and Architect Bureau. The building and furnishing of this laboratory, shortly to be started, will involve about fl. 2.5 million. The building is of modern design and use has been made of the most recent developments in this field. The laboratory will give facilities to about 140 research workers and will consist of two large wings in which the Physical Department will be housed. Further room has been reserved for members of the management and some administrative groups. The general laboratory will be built in the western cup in the dunes of the Reactor Centrum Nederland site at Petten, next to the Fermi building, which is now ready. When finished, a central shop and storehouse building, a lecture theatre and a library will be built. At present,

work on the building of a laboratory for highly radioactive materials is in progress. This building will be ready for use by the beginning of 1963. In the spring of this year a temporary building for general services (technical services with drawingoffice and administrative departments) was finished. It is expected that, by the end of 1963, 430 research workers will be housed in the various buildings at Petten. At the moment, 385 persons are employed there.

## Space Science at the University of Rochester

A CENTER for Space Sciences is to be established at the University of Rochester. The Center will serve as a focus for the interdisciplinary research activities of the many University departments active in space studies and will prepare graduate students for research and teaching careers in the space sciences. The director will be Dr. Wallace O. Fenn, senior professor of physiology at the University. The new unit will be one of the first multi-disciplinary space centres established at a university. Among the academic units which will participate in its activities are physics, engineering, optics, chemistry, biology, psychology, geology, physiology, and radiation biology. The Center is expected to facilitate the work at present being carried out in separate departments and also will encourage new experiments related to space exploration. One of its primary purposes will be to train future space scientists, and initial projects will include a series of seminars for faculty, students, and area industrial scientists working in various phases of space science. An orientation course in space science for graduate students also is being organized. Dr. Fenn has been associated with the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry as professor of physiology since 1924, and was head of the Physiology Department until 1959. He is well known for his contributions to respiration physiology.

## The Scientific Documentation Centre, Ltd., Halbeath, Dunfermline

A NEW research association, the Scientific Documentation Centre, Ltd., is now in operation at Hal-beath, Dunfermline. The present organization is continuing the activities of the Scientific Documentation Centre, set up there in 1960. The new unit is carrying out research into the means of improving access to scientific information and is assembling collections of scientific data and operates information services from these, which will be available to research organizations throughout Great Britain and abroad. The constitution of the Centre is modelled on those of existing research associations and the Centre functions as a non-profit making company. The Council, which has been formed to control the unit, first met in August of this year. The chairman is Prof. P. T. Landsberg, of University College, Cardiff, and the members of the Council are Mr. C. E. Kendall, Dr. D. M. McIntosh, Mr. J. R. McNally, Mr. M. C. Pottinger, Mr. J. F. M. Scholes, and Dr. D. W. A. Sharp.

The first service project undertaken by the Centre, the Spectra Index, is now growing rapidly, and some 3,500 spectra or sets of numerical spectral data including spectra of several hundred inorganic compounds—are held. All types of spectra are collected, but effort is primarily directed to the collection of infra-red and ultra-violet data. Plans to collect nuclear magnetic resonance and related types of