U.S. NATIONAL ACADEMY OF SCIENCES

New Officers

DROF. FREDERICK SEITZ, head of the Department of Physics in the University of Illinois, has been elected president of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences in succession to Dr. Detlev Bronk, president of the Rockefeller Institute, who has held office as president of the Academy for an unprecedented period-since 1950.

Two new members of Council of the Academy have also been elected: Dr. Roger Revelle, on leave from the University of California at San Diego to serve as science adviser to the Secretary of the Interior; and Dr. W. Barry Wood, jun., of the School of Medicine, Johns Hopkins University.

New Members

The following new members of the Academy have been elected:

Prof. L. H. Aller, professor of astronomy, University of Michigan;

Prof. W. A. Arnold, principal biologist, Oak Ridge National Laboratory;

Prof. V. C. Boekelheide, professor of chemistry, University of Oregon;

Prof. R. W. Briggs, professor of zoology, Indiana University

Prof. H. Brooks, professor of applied physics, and dean, division of engineering and applied physics, Harvard University;

Prof. J. M. Buchanan, professor of biochemistry and head of the division, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Prof. G. F. Chew, professor of physics, University of California;

Prof. A. H. Coons, visiting professor of bacteriology and immunology, Harvard Medical School, and career investigator of the American Heart Association;

Prof. M. Doudoroff, professor of bacteriology. University of California, and professor, Miller Institute for Basic Research in Science;

Dr. A. E. Emerson, professor of zoology at the University of Chicago, and research associate, American Museum of Natural History and Chicago Natural History Museum;

Dr. S. E. Forbush, chairman, section of theoretical geophysics, Department of Terrestrial Magnetism, Carnegie Institution of Washington;

Dr. H. Friedmann, director, Los Angeles County Museum of History, Science, and Art;

Prof. R. M. Garrels, professor of geology, Harvard University;

Prof. D. A. Glaser, professor of physics, University of California, Berkeley;

Prof. D. E. Green, co-director, Institute for Enzyme Research, and professor of enzyme chemistry, University of Wisconsin;

Prof. P. Herget, professor and director of the Observatory, University of Cincinnati;

Prof. H. L. James, professor of geology, University of Minnesota;

Prof. M. D. Kamen, professor of biochemistry and chairman of the Department of Biophysics, Brandeis University:

Prof. S. S. Kety, professor of psychiatry and psychiatrist-in-chief, Johns Hopkins University;

Prof. P. J. Kramer, James B. Duke professor of

botany, Duke University;
Prof. Chia-Chiao Lin, professor of mathematics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology;

Prof. F. A. Long, professor of chemistry, Cornell University:

Prof. G. J. F. MacDonald, professor of geophysics, University of California, Los Angeles, and staff associate, Geophysical Laboratory, Carnegie Institution of Washington;

Prof. G. W. Mackey, professor of mathematics, Harvard University;

Prof. G. A. Miller, professor of psychology, Harvard University;

Prof. C. B. Morrey, jun., professor of mathematics, University of California, Berkeley;

Prof. A. Pais, professor of physics, Institute for

Advanced Study, Princeton;
Prof. W. H. Pickering, professor of electrical engineering, and director, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology;

Prof. I. Rouse, professor and chairman of the department of anthropology, Yale University;

Prof. E. L. Smith, professor of biochemistry and research professor of medicine, University of Utah;

Dr. P. Sporn, president and director, American Electric Power Co.;

Dr. T. D. Stewart, curator, division of physical anthropology, U.S. National Museum;

Prof. W. L. Straus, jun., professor of anatomy and physical anthropology, Johns Hopkins University;

Prof. S. Warren, professor of pathology, Harvard Medical School, and chief pathologist, New England Deaconess Hospital;

Prof. J. D. Watson, professor of biology, Harvard University.

Medal Awards

The Academy has awarded the following medals: The J. Lawrence Smith Medal to Prof. Harold C. Urey, professor-at-large in the University of California in San Diego, "for outstanding achievement in the investigation of meteoric bodies

The Charles Doolittle Walcott Medal to Dr. A. A. Öpik, since 1947 Cambrian stratigrapher and palæontologist in the Federal Bureau of Mineral Resources, Canberra, "for outstanding contribution to the knowledge of Cambrian geology and palæontology".

The Public Welfare Medal to Dr. J. A. Shannon, director of the National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Maryland, "for eminence in the application of science to the public welfare".

The Jessie Stevenson Kovalenko Medal to Prof. G. H. Whipple, professor of pathology and dean emeritus in the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry, "for contributions to medical knowledge"

The Kimber Genetics Medal has been awarded to Dr. M. Demerec, formerly director of the Department of Genetics of the Carnegic Institution of Washington, "in recognition of his many contributions to the understanding of the genetics of various plants, Drosophila, bacteria and viruses, and especially for his leadership in the investigation of unstable genes, the mutation process, genetics of micro-organisms and the genetic fine structure of the gene".