U.S. National Bureau of Standards:

Dr. J. I. Hoffman

Dr. James I. Hoffman has retired as consultant to the Director of the National Bureau of Standards, U.S. Department of Commerce, after forty-three years' service. An outstanding analytical chemist, Dr. Hoffman developed one of the first methods for purifying uranium, enabling the war-time Manhattan Project to secure pure materials for the production of uranium metal. Dr. Hoffman joined the staff of the Bureau in 1919 after a year of Army duty with the Chemical Warfare Service. In 1947 he became chief of the new Surface Chemistry Section, and was appointed assistant chief of the Chemistry Division in 1952. Four years later he became chief of the Metallurgy Division. As consultant to the Director, Dr. Hoffman has been concerned with problems associated with the pure metals programme. 1946 he was awarded the Hillebrand Prize for significant contributions to chemical science. He was given a Department of Commerce Meritorious Service Silver Medal in 1950, and received an Exceptional Service Gold Medal, the Department's highest honour, in 1956. He was also the recipient of the 1959 Fisher Award in Analytical Chemistry, the highest recognition for work in that field in the United States and Canada.

The Institution of Electrical Engineers: Dr. G. F. Gainsborough

Dr. George F. Gainsborough has been appointed to succeed Mr. W. K. Brasher as secretary of the Institution of Electrical Engineers. Dr. Gainsborough, born in the Shetland Isles in 1915, was educated at Christ's Hospital and King's College, London. He is a barrister-at-law of Gray's Inn. After serving in the Physics Department of King's College, he joined the Radio Division of the National Physical Laboratory and was attached, in 1944, to the British Commonwealth Scientific Office in Washington as a senior Scientific Officer. Shortly after his return to Britain he was transferred from the National Physical Laboratory to the Ministry of Supply, now the Ministry of Aviation, where he is an assistant secretary. He received his doctorate in 1947 and has presented several papers to the Institution, being awarded the Ambrose Fleming Premium in 1948. In 1960 he was seconded for a year to study at the Imperial Defence College.

Secondment of U.K. University Teachers Overseas

In a written answer in the House of Commons on February 21, the Secretary for Technical Co-operation, Mr. D. Vosper, announced that, with the agreement of the British Council, he had set up a small committee, with Sir Charles Morris as chairman. to increase the flow of staff from British to overseas universities by entering into arrangements with universities for the supply of teachers on short-term secondment schemes, tailored to meet specific needs. The other members of the committee are: Mr. J. S. Fulton, Sir Douglas Logan, Sir John Wolfenden, Prof. M. M. Swann, Mr. N. Leach and Mr. E. E. R. Church. The arrangements Mr. Vosper had in mind included easing re-entry to home universities, stimulating exchanges of staff and encouraging links between universities and university departments in Britain and universities and departments in other countries, for which purpose payments would, where necessary, be made from Commonwealth Education

or British Council funds. The new committee would work closely with the Inter-University Council for Higher Education Overseas, the British Council's recruitment department and the Association of Universities of the British Commonwealth. On February 22 Mr. Vosper also announced that the Nigerian Government had asked the British Government to arrange this year for a Nigerian Teacher Vacation Course similar to, but on a larger scale than, that arrangement on its behalf last year, and that the Government had agreed to do so. Arrangements had been made accordingly with the British Council, the Ministry of Education, the Scottish Education Department and the Ministry of Education, Northern Ireland. The course would take place in July and August, and he hoped that British teachers would come forward in good numbers.

Royal Society and Nuffield Foundation Commonwealth Bursaries Scheme: 1962

AWARDS under the Royal Society and Nuffield Foundation Commonwealth Bursaries Scheme for 1962 have been made as follows: H. R. Arthur, senior lecturer in organic chemistry, University of Hong Kong, to assist him to visit Oxford and Manchester to study new research techniques; Dr. J. P. Cooper, head of the Department of Developmental Genetics, Welsh Plant Breeding Station, Aberystwyth, to enable him to carry out work on the genetic control of climatic responses in herbage grasses at Canberra, and to visit New Zealand, for about three months from June; Prof. A. G. McLellan, professor of physics, University of Canterbury, to enable him to study solid-state physics at the Clarendon Laboratory, Oxford, for about nine months from January; Prof. D. C. Midgley, professor of hydraulic engineering, University of Witwatersrand, to enable him to carry out research work in flood hydrology and river hydraulics at the University of Alberta, for six months from January; Dr. C. C. Narasimhamurti, lecturer in zoology, Andhra University, to enable him to spend a year from March at Cambridge gaining knowledge of present-day techniques in the field of protozoology; Dr. S. K. Roy, senior lecturer in physics, University of Malaya, to enable him to study low-temperature techniques at the Clarendon Laboratory, Oxford, for six months from January; Prof. R. D. Singh, professor of mining engineering, M.B.M. Engineering College, Jodhpur, to enable him to study modern research in mining at centres in the United Kingdom between March and July; Dr. N. W. Tanner, senior research officer in physics, University of Oxford, to enable him to gain experience on a tandem accelerator at Canberra and on a cyclotron at Melbourne, for about three months from July; Dr. D. I. Williamson, lecturer at the Marine Biological Station, Port Erin, Isle of Man, to enable him to study the hatching and rearing of decapod crustaceans and to discuss methods of plankton collection at the Marine Laboratory, Cronulla, New South Wales, for a year from September.

Employment and Training of Teachers in Australia

THE Australian Journal for Science, October 1961, includes three of the presidential addresses to Sections of the Australian and New Zealand Association for the Advancement of Science. That of Principal I. S. Turner, to Section J (Education, Psychology and Philosophy), based largely on the Murray report and the report of the Australian Universities Com-