University in 1949. He has been lecturer in pharmacology at University College, London, since 1950, and is well known for his research work in the field of the physiology of the kidney in animals and man, and of endocrine glands, particularly with reference to the neurohypophysis. Dr. Dicker succeeds Dr. Mary F. Lockett, who has been head of the Department since 1952 and who has become a Research Fellow in the University of Birmingham Medical School. Dr. Lockett, was responsible for the remarkable growth of the Department which has taken place since her appointment and has gained well-deserved recognition for her research work in renal, endocrine and cardiovascular physiology.

Cryogenic Physics at the National Bureau of Standards: Dr. E. Ambler

DR. ERNEST AMBLER has been appointed chief of the Cryogenic Physics Section of the U.S. National Bureau of Standards. Dr. Ambler, an authority on low-temperature physics, will direct research studies into the properties of matter at very low temperatures. He is a Briton by birth, and graduated from the University of Oxford in 1945, 1949 and 1953. In 1953, he joined the National Bureau of Standards, and five years later became an American citizen. At the Bureau he began work on magnetism and nuclear orientation studies at temperatures approaching absolute zero, and within eight months had completed the first nuclear alignment experiments to be conducted in the United States. Dr. Ambler was named one of the ten outstanding young men in the Federal Government in 1960 and given the Arthur S. Flemming Award in recognition of this work. Dr. Ambler and his associates, Hayward, Hoppes and Hudson, gained world recognition in 1956 for the parity experiments they conducted in co-operation with Dr. Chien Shiung Wu of Columbia University.

C.S.I.R.O. (Australia) Irrigation Research :

Dr. J. V. Possingham

DR. JOHN V. POSSINGHAM has been appointed officer-in-charge of the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization's Research Station at Merbein, Victoria, Australia. The Merbein Station is Australia's main centre for research on vine fruits. Research on other irrigated crops, including citrus and stone fruits, is also carried on there. Dr. Possingham, who is aged thirty-two, is one of Australia's leading young plant scientists. At the Organization's Division of Plant Industry in Canberra he has concentrated his researches on plant nutrition and the physiology of plant growth. A graduate of the University of Adelaide, Dr. Possingham later spent two years at Oxford, where he was awarded a doctorate for his work on the role of some mineral elements in plant growth.

Ministry of Aviation: Mr. B. Vaughan Williams

MR. B. VAUGHAN WILLIAMS has been promoted deputy chief scientific officer to fill the new post of director of professional staff management, Ministry of Aviation. He will be the first member of the scientific class to fill an administrative post at this level within the Establishment Division of the Ministry of Aviation. In his new post he will be responsible for the recruiting, promotion, posting, and career planning of scientific, experimental, engineering and ancillary staff. Mr. Williams graduated from University College, Aberystwyth, and Jesus College, Oxford, where he was a mathematical

research scholar. He joined the Royal Aircraft Establishment in 1929 as a junior scientific officer and later spent ten years before and during the War on air armament research. During 1944-51 he did project work on Government-sponsored new civil aircraft. After graduating at the Imperial Defence College in 1952 he spent two years on the Defence Research Policy Staff, Ministry of Defence. He was on loan to the Defence Research Board, Ottawa, during 1955-57 and then returned to the former Ministry of Supply on career planning for the scientific grades. The Royal Aeronautical Society: Elections and Awards

HONORARY Fellowship of the Royal Aeronautical Society has been conferred on Sir George Gardner, controller of aircraft, Ministry of Aviation, and N. E. Rowe, director, Hawker Siddeley Aviation. Honorary Companionship of the Society has been awarded to: M. J. B. Stoker, formerly honorary secretary of the Helicopter Association of Great Britain and now retired.

The Society has also announced the following Awards: Gold Medal, to Sir Arnold Hall, chairman and managing director, Bristol Siddeley Engines Ltd., for his outstanding achievements in aeronautics; Silver Medal, to Dr. D. Kuchemann, head of Supersonics Division, Aerodynamics Department, Royal Aircraft Establishment, Farnborough, for his outstanding work in aerodynamics, and to Prof. E. J. Richards, professor of aeronautical engineering and dean of engineering faculty, University of Southampton, for his outstanding work in aircraft noise; Bronze Medal, to Dr. A. J. Barrett, head of the Technical Department, Royal Aeronautical Society, for his work on the preparation of technical information for use in aircraft design; British Gold Medal for Aeronautics, to F. W. Page, director and chief executive, Aircraft Division, English Electric Aviation Ltd., for his outstanding practical contributions to aircraft design; British Silver Medal for Aeronautics, F. N. Slingsby, managing director and chief designer, Slingsby Sailplanes, Ltd., for his practical achievements in the design and construction of sailplanes; Wakefield Gold Medal, to J. E. Clegg, Weapons Research Establishment, Salisbury, Australia, and to T. G. Thorne, principal scientific officer, Royal Radar Establishment, for outstanding contributions to Doppler navigation; R. P. Alston Memorial Medal. to P. Howlett, flight test observer, Air Registration Board, for his practical contributions to aircraft flight testing; Alan Marsh Medal, to C. T. D. Hosegood, chief helicopter test pilot, Bristol Division, Westland Aircraft, Ltd., in recognition of his outstanding contribution as a test pilot in the British helicopter development field, with particular reference to the tandem rotor configuration.

In addition, the following medals and prizes have been awarded for papers published in the Society's Journal and in The Aeronautical Quarterly during 1961: Simms Gold Medal, to R. Smelt, chief scientist, Satellite Systems, Lockheed Missiles and Space Division, for his paper "The Agena Satellite and the Discoverer Programme"; George Taylor (Australia) Gold Medal, to J. C. Floyd, chief engineer, Advanced Projects Group, Hawker Siddeley Aviation, Ltd., for his paper "Some Current Problems Facing the Aircraft Designer"; Orville Wright Prize, to H. L. Cox and N. B. Owen, National Physical Laboratory, Teddington, for their paper "The Influence of Biaxial