- PROF. R. W. DITCHBURN, professor of physics in the University of Reading, distinguished for his researches on ultra-violet spectroscopy, radiation damage and visual discrimination.
- Dr. P. H. Gregory, head of the Plant Pathology Department, Rothamsted Experimental Station. Harpenden, distinguished for his contributions to mycology and epidemiology, especially for his work on the dispersal of airborne pathogens and allergens.
- Dr. M. N. Hill, assistant director of research in the Department of Geodesy and Geophysics in the University of Cambridge, distinguished for his contributions to geophysical and geological knowledge of the ocean floor.
- PROF. D. W. HOLDER, professor of engineering science in the University of Oxford, distinguished for his work on boundary layer separation in trans-sonic and supersonic flow and for his contributions to the design of wind tunnels and shock tubes.
- Dr. S. G. Hooker, technical director (aero), Bristol Siddeley Engines, Ltd., Bristol, distinguished for his research in fluid dynamics and for his outstanding contributions to the development of aircraft gas turbine engines.
- Dr. A. A. P. Kleczkowski, senior principal scientific officer, Rothamsted Experimental Station, Harpenden, distinguished for his contributions to the knowledge of viruses and for his discoveries in immunology and photobiology.
- PROF. S. MANDELSTAM, professor of mathematical physics in the University of Birmingham, distinguished for his contributions to quantum field theory and the development of the double dispersion relations.
- DR. L. E. ORGEL, assistant director of research in theoretical chemistry in the University of Cambridge, distinguished for his application of molecular orbital theory to the structure of complex ions and to the nature of the bonding involved.
- Dr. F. R. Parrington, lecturer in zoology and director of the Museum of Zoology in the University

- of Cambridge, distinguished for his work on fossil vertebrates, in particular on the amphibians and mammal-like reptiles.
- Dr. H. L. Penman, head of the Physics Department, Rothamsted Experimental Station, Harpenden. distinguished for his physical studies of agricultural and botanical problems, particularly for his work on transpiration and the irrigation of crops.
- Mr. M. R. Pollock, head of the Division of Bacterial Physiology at the Medical Research Council, National Institute for Medical Research, London, distinguished for his work on induced enzyme formation and for his contributions to the problem of protein biosynthesis.
- PROF. R. A. RAPHAEL, regius professor of chemistry in the University of Glasgow, distinguished for his work on the synthesis of natural substances.
- Mr. J. S. Sawyer, deputy director (dynamical research) of the Meteorological Office, Bracknell, Berkshire, distinguished for his contributions to dynamical meteorology, especially in the field of numerical weather prediction.
- Dr. W. G. Schneider, principal research officer, Division of Pure Chemistry, National Research Council of Canada, Ottawa, distinguished for his studies of intermolecular forces and for his work on nuclear magnetic resonance.
- PROF. R. A. SMITH, professor of physics in the University of Sheffield, distinguished for his contributions to the advancement of the science of solid-state physics.
- Prof. M. M. Swann, professor of natural history in the University of Edinburgh, distinguished for his studies on cellular processes, particularly those involved in cell division.
- Dr. N. Tinbergen, reader in animal behaviour in the University of Oxford, distinguished for his contributions to the study of the behaviour of animals.
- Prof. H. L. Welsh, professor of physics in the University of Toronto, Canada, distinguished for his experimental work on infra-red and Raman spectra.

NEWS and VIEWS

The (Irish) Institute for Industrial Research and Standards: Mr. M. J. Cranley

MR. MARTIN J. CRANLEY has been appointed as director general of the (Irish) Institute for Industrial Research and Standards. Mr. Cranley is thirty-seven years of age. Educated at the O'Connell Schools and University College, Dublin, he had an outstanding academic career. He won a Corporation of Dublin University Scholarship on the results of his leaving certificate examination, and in each year of his course towards a B.Sc. degree he won a University prize. In 1944 he secured first place with first-class honours (gaining the highest degree examination marks since records were first kept by the College in 1932) in the B.Sc. degree examination, which he took in Chemistry with Mathematics as subsidiary subject. He was the first recipient, on the results of this examination, of the Hugh Ryan Memorial Medal. He was awarded an M.Sc. degree in 1946 for research in spectroscopy, after which he gained an Overseas Research Scholarship given by the Royal Commission

for the Exhibition of 1851. He spent the two years of this Scholarship studying at the Davy-Faraday Research Laboratories of the Royal Institution, London, and at the Ramsay Chemical Laboratory of University College, London. On his return to Ireland in 1948 he became an assistant in the Chemistry Department of University College, Dublin. In 1952 he was appointed principal of Kevin Street College of Technology.

Physiology and Pharmacology at Chelsea College of Science and Technology: Dr. S. E. Dicker

Dr. S. E. DICKER has been appointed head of the Department of Physiology and Pharmacology. Dr. Dieker holds the degree of M.D. (Brussels), which has been recognized and registered in the United Kingdom. He came from occupied Belgium during the War and in 1946 was appointed Beit Memorial Fellow in the Department of Pharmacology of the University of Bristol. He took his Ph.D. degree in Bristol and was awarded the degree of D.Sc. by that