# NEWS and VIEWS

## New Year Honours

THE following names of scientists and others associated with scientific and related work appear in the New Year Honours list :

Baron: Sir Alexander Fleck, chairman of the Advisory Council on Research and Development, Ministry of Power, and of the Nuclear Safety Advisory Committee, for public services.

C.H.: The Earl of Limerick, chairman of the Medical Research Council.

Knights : Dr. Christopher H. Andrewes, deputy director, National Institute for Medical Research; Prof. Alfred C. B. Lovell, professor of radio astronomy, University of Manchester, and director of the Jodrell Bank Experimental Station; Alexander Oppenheim, vice-chancellor of the University of Malaya; John N. Ritchie, chief veterinary officer, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food; Dr. Alan H. Wilson, a deputy chairman and managing director of Courtaulds, Ltd.; Prof. Brian W. Windeyer, professor of radiology, University of London, dean of Middlesex Hospital Medical School; Dr. Alfred E. R. White, of Toorak, Victoria, Australia, for philanthropic services to the advancement of culture and the development of medical research.

C.B.: H. A. Sargeaunt, deputy chief scientist, War Office; W. H. Stephens, director-general of ballistic missiles, Ministry of Aviaticn.

C.M.G.: W. F. Searle, chief statistician, Colonial Office; Prof. S. Sunderland, professor of anatomy, University of Melbourne, chairman of the National Radiation Advisory Committee; Prof. A. D. Trendall, master of University House and deputy vicechancellor, Australian National University, Canberra.

C.B.E.: J.B. Alexander, director of the Geological Survey, Federation of Malaya; G. Burdon, engineer surveyor-in-chief, Marine Division, Ministry of Transport; J. Cook, director of agriculture, Sarawak: Dr. E. H. Derrick, deputy director, Institute of Medical Research, State of Queensland; G. C. I. Gardiner, technical director, De Havilland Aircraft Co., Ltd.; Prof. R. B. Green, emeritus professor of anatomy, and lately dean of medicine, King's College, University of Durham; W. A. Grinsted, director of the West Indies Meteorological Service; Prof. C. H. Stuart-Harris, professor of medicine, University of Sheffield ; G. K. B. Hay, formerly director of agriculture, State of Western Australia; Dr. G. A. C. Herklots, principal of the Imperial College of Tropical Agriculture, West Indies; F. T. Ingham, lately director of Geological Surveys, Cyprus; Dr. D. Dilwyn John, director of the National Museum of Wales, Cardiff; R. H. Jones, chief electrical engineer, Crown Agents for Oversea Governments and Administrations; C. E. T. Mann, formerly director, Rubber Research Institute of Malaya; W. J. M. Menzies, member of the Advisory Committee on Fishery Research ; Prof. J. C. Mitcheson, professor of mining, University of London (Imperial College, Royal School of Mines); Prof. J. A. Manché, vice-chancellor and rector magnificus of the Royal University of Malta; E. F. Newley, deputy director, Atomic Weapons Research Establishment, Aldermaston; A. A. Rubbra, technical director, Rolls-Royce, Ltd.; G. C. Turner, a principal actuary, Government Actuary's Department; E. J. Vaughan, a deputy chief scientific

officer, Admiralty; G. E. Watts, principal, Brighton Technical College; Prof. A. W. Williams, professor of medicine, Makerere College, Uganda; H. Woods, H.M. deputy chief inspector of factories, Ministry of Labour.

## Biochemistry at Trinity College, Dublin :

Prof. B. Spencer

DR. BRIAN SPENCER has been appointed to the chair of biochemistry at the University of Dublin, established in place of the chair held for his life-time by the late Dr. W. R. Fearon (obituary, see Nature, 185, 283; 1960). Dr. Spencer studied at the University of Liverpool and was awarded a B.Sc. with firstclass honours in biochemistry in 1948, and a Ph.D. in 1950 following postgraduate work with Prof. R. T. Williams at Liverpool and St. Mary's Hospital Medical School. Later, he joined the staff of the Department of Physiology, University College of South Wales and Monmouthshire, Cardiff, and in 1956 transferred to a newly created Department of Biochemistry under Prof. John Pryde. In 1956-57, Dr. Spencer spent a year's leave of absence working on biochemical cytology with Dr. E. V. Cowdry at Washington University Medical School, St. Louis. Dr. Spencer developed an interest in sulphate esters during his postgraduate work in the field of detoxication, and at Cardiff he became well known for his work on sulphatases and on sulphate ester synthesis. In recent years he has extended his interests to the biochemistry of epithelia and teratogenesis.

### Bacteriology at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine : Prof. E. T. C. Spooner

PROF. E. T. C. SPOONER recently gave up the chair of bacteriology at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine to become full-time dean of the School. He was educated at Epsom, St. Bartholomew's Hospital and Clare College, Cambridge, where he gained a Foundation Scholarship, and was elected a Fellow in 1929. Apart from two years as a Commonwealth Fellow at Harvard (1929-31), he spent the best part of twenty years at Cambridge as tutor, and as demonstrator and lecturer under H. R. Dean in the Department of Pathology. Many probably expected him to live and die a Cambridge don. In 1947, however, he was called to the chair at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, which he has held until the present time. His contributions lie within the field of virus diseases. including dog distemper and mumps, and of tetanus and other anærobe infections and of hospital crossinfection. During the Second World War he held a temporary commission and visited the Middle East to advise about hepatitis and other problems. His importance to medicine has particularly been that of the wise counsellor. He was a member of the Medical Research Council from 1953 until 1957 and has been a much valued member of a number of its committees. From 1949-55 he was editor of the Journal of Hygiene.

### Prof. D. G. Evans, F.R.S.

DAVID GWYNNE EVANS has been appointed to succeed Prof. Spooner in the University chair. He is a science graduate of the University of Man-