into the etiology of diabetes mellitus and liver necrosis.

A. F. HUXLEY, assistant director of research in physiology, University of Cambridge, distinguished for fundamental discoveries concerning the conduction of impulses in nerves, and for developing new methods for the study of nerves and muscles.

PROF. R. W. JAMES, professor of physics, University of Cape Town, distinguished for investigations of the structure of matter through the use of X-rays, and particularly for his studies of thermal motions of atoms in crystals.

DR. D. LEWIS, head of the Genetics Department, John Innes Horticultural Institution, Bayfordbury, Hertfordshire, distinguished for his researches on the genetics and physiology of pollination.

DR. J. W. LINNETT, lecturer and demonstrator in chemistry, University of Oxford, distinguished for his work on molecular structure and on the physical chemistry of combustion and flame propagation.

PROF. A. C. B. LOVELL, professor of radio astronomy, University of Manchester, distinguished for his contributions to radio astronomy and in particular for his work on the detection and investigation of meteors by radio methods.

PROF. O. E. LOWENSTEIN, Mason professor of zoology and comparative physiology, University of Birmingham, distinguished for his work on the comparative physiology of the vertebrate labyrinth.

DR. R. A. LYTTLETON, lecturer in mathematics, University of Cambridge, distinguished for his original contributions to theoretical astronomy and astrophysics and for his mathematical researches on rotating liquid masses.

DR. A. G. OGSTON, lecturer in biochemistry, University of Oxford, distinguished for the application of physicochemical principles and methods to biological problems.

DR. G. PONTECORVO, reader in genetics, University of Glasgow, distinguished for his contributions to genetics, especially by his studies of gene action, gene organization, and systems of variation in fungi.

DR. J. A. RAMSAY, lecturer in zoology, University of Cambridge, distinguished for his analysis of factors controlling the water balance in animals and for the elegance of the micromethods he has devised.

DR. F. C. TOMPKINS, reader in physical chemistry, Imperial College of Science and Technology, University of London, distinguished for his experimental and theoretical contributions to the study of physical and chemical adsorption, and the thermal decomposition of ionic solids.

PROF. A. G. WALKER, professor of pure mathematics, University of Liverpool, distinguished for his work on the foundations of relativity theory, and for important contributions to differential geometry, including the theory of harmonic spaces and the theory of fibre bundles.

PROF. G. P. WELLS, professor of zoology, University College, London, distinguished for his studies relating structure and function to mode of life of invertebrate animals, particularly of polychætes.

NEWS and VIEWS

Royal Geographical Society : Awards

H.M. THE QUEEN has been pleased to approve the award of the Royal Medals of the Royal Geographical Society as follows : Patron's Medal, to Dr. John K. Wright, lately director of the American Geographical Society of New York, for services in the development of geographical research and exploration; Founder's Medal, to Commander (L) C. J. W. Simpson, leader of the British Expedition to North Greenland, 1952-54. The Council of the Society has made the following awards : Victoria Medal, to Sir John Russell, for his studies of soils and agriculture and for services to geographical education; Murchison Grant, to Dr. H. C. K. Henderson, lecturer in economic geography, Birkbeck College, London, for studies in economic geography; Back Grant, to Captain O. C. S. Robertson, for his journey through the North West Passage in one season in the icebreaker Labrador; Cuthbert Peak Grant, to D. G. A. Bunker, for geographical exploration and mapping in south-west Arabia; Gill Memorial, to Dr. Marjorie Sweeting, lecturer in geography, University of Oxford, for contributions to the physiography of limestone areas; Mrs. Patrick Ness Award, to Dr. E. F. Roots, senior geologist, Norwegian-British-Swedish Antarctic Expedition, 1949-52.

University Grants Committee : New Members

THE Treasury has announced the appointment of four new members of the University Grants Committee to take the place of retiring members, and of two additional members, bringing the total up to eighteen. The retiring members are Lord Adrian, Dr. J. W. Cook, Prof. G. W. Pickering and Sir David Hughes Parry. The new members are Prof. R. S. Edwards, professor of economics with special reference to industrial organization in the University of London; Dr. Willis Jackson, director of research and education, Metropolitan-Vickers Electrical Co., Ltd.; Prof. R. H. Matthew, professor of architecture in the University of Edinburgh; Prof. P. B. Medawar, Jodrell professor of zoology and comparative anatomy, University College, London; Prof. A. Robertson, Heath Harrison professor of organic chemistry, University of Liverpool; and Sir George Thomson, master of Corpus Christi College, Cambridge.

New Nature Reserves

THE new nature reserve at Axmouth - Lyme Regis undercliffs in Devon, declared by the Nature Conservancy on March 16, forms the largest and most important landslip area on the coast of Great Britain. There have been periodic slips from the sixteenth century onward of the chalk and underlying greensand on the Gault and Lower Lias clay which dip towards the sea, the most spectacular being that on Christmas Day, 1839, when nearly 8 million tons of rock subsided from a cliff 375 ft. high, leaving a chasm half a mile long and 200-400 feet in width. The new reserve, which extends along some five miles of coast and covers 708 acres, is primarily of geological interest but has a wide variety of soils and is almost completely covered with vegetation, notably a well-grown natural ashwood. Interesting birds and butterflies are also to be found. The Con-