appointments in history in the University of London. In 1933 he became general secretary to the Society for the Protection of Science and Learning, a body which did invaluable work in helping to place academic refugees from Germany and other places in suitable positions. In 1938 he became secretary of the London School of Economics and Political Science, University of London-a position which he held until he took up his present one, though during 1941-45 he was seconded for service with the Foreign Office, spending some time in Washington as deputy head of the British Political Warfare Mission to the United States. He was made O.B.E. in 1945 and C.M.G. in 1952. In his present post, Dr. Adams has necessarily travelled widely and has obtained much experience of the problems of university education in Colonial territories. Early in 1954 he was awarded the honorary degree of LL.D. by the Royal University of Malta. He will take to the Federated Territories of Central Africa, which he already knows, a knowledge of the educational problems to be faced in multi-racial territories which few can rival. The great experiment in higher education upon which Central Africa is about to embark needs men of integrity, experience and forcefulness for its successful outcome, and in Dr. Adams a principal has been found who, like Dr. Rollo before him, enjoys to the full these and many other distinguished attributes.

## Sir Bernard Keen, F.R.S.

SIR BERNARD KEEN, who has been director of the East African Agriculture and Forestry Research Organization since 1947 (see *Nature*, 160, 184; 1947), is retiring in August. He was the first physicist to tackle soil problems in Great Britain. pioneering work at Rothamsted Experimental Station opened up a hitherto neglected line in pure physicsthe study of water distribution and movement in porous materials—as well as providing practical applications to agriculture, notably in soil cultivation, evaporation and transpiration. Hydrological problems of much importance in connexion with water resources were also clarified by the work of the Soil Physics Department. Apart from two years secondment (1929-31) to reorganize the Imperial Institute of Agricultural Research in India, and extensive visits to the United States and South Africa, he remained at Rothamsted as head of the Soil Physics Department and assistant director until 1943. During 1943-45 he was scientific adviser to the Middle East Supply Centre. In 1946 he was appointed adviser on soil conservation to the Government of Palestine, and chairman of a U.K. Government Mission to West Africa on vegetable oil production. In 1947 he made an extensive tour of East Africa to advise on regional research. The outcome was the adoption of a Colonial Development and Welfare Scheme to create the East African Agriculture and Forestry Research Organization, of which he became the first director. A nucleus of staff was available at the East African Agricultural Research Institute at Amani in Tanganyika, which was absorbed into the new Organization. The staff was increased by recruitment as the laboratories and experimental farm at the new headquarters near Nairobi approached completion. Much attention was given to the important problems of co-ordination between the longrange research of a regional organization and the territorial investigations conducted by the Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Departments of

Kenya, Tanganyika and Uganda. Close liaison was also established with other bodies, such as the Cotton Research Station of the Empire Cotton Growing Corporation, the East African Tea Research Institute, the Overseas Food Corporation, and the Tanganyika Sisal Association Research Station.

## Chemistry at Glasgow:

## Prof. D. H. R. Barton, F.R.S.

D. H. R. BARTON, who has been appointed regius professor of chemistry in the University of Glasgow in succession to Prof. J. W. Cook (see *Nature*, 173, 61; 1954), graduated at the Imperial College of Science and Technology, University of London, in 1940. He obtained the Ph.D. degree for work under Sir Ian Heilbron in 1942 and engaged in government work during 1942-44. After a short time in industry, he returned to the Imperial College to work in the Department of Inorganic and Physical Chemistry under Prof. H. V. A. Briscoe, at first as a junior member of staff and later as an I.C.I. Research Fellow. After a year as visiting lecturer in the chemistry of natural products at Harvard University, where he understudied Prof. R. B. Woodward, Dr. Barton returned to Britain to take up an appointment as reader in organic chemistry at Birkbeck College, University of London; he was elected professor of organic chemistry in the University of London in 1953. Prof. Barton was Harrison Memorial prizeman of the Chemical Society in 1948 and the first Corday-Morgan medallist of that Society in 1951. In 1952 he was a Tilden lecturer of the Chemical Society and was elected to the fellowship of the Royal Society in 1954. His scientific work is summarized in more than a hundred scientific communications in organic and physical-organic chemistry. He is responsible, in part, for the development of molecular rotation correlations and conformational analysis, concepts which are contributing greatly to the current rapid growth of alicyclic natural-product chemistry.

## The International Union of Biochemistry

THE International Union of Biochemistry, which was founded on March 1, 1953, was formally constituted at its first general assembly, held in London during January 5-6. Of the fifteen countries which adhere to the Union to date, the following twelve were represented at the Assembly: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the Netherlands, Sweden, Great Britain, U.S.A. and U.S.S.R. The Assembly elected the Council of the Union, and the Council appointed from among its members the following office-bearers: President, Prof. M. Florkin (Belgium); Treasurer, Prof. E. H. Stotz (U.S.A.); Secretary-General, Prof. R. H. S. Thompson (Great Britain). The following delegates from the various countries at present adhering to the Union make up the remaining members of the Council: Prof. S. Akabori (Japan), Prof. J. Courtois (France), Academician V. A. Engelhardt (U.S.S.R.), Prof. A. H. Ennor (Australia), Prof. K. Felix (Germany), Prof. E. Hammarsten (Sweden), Prof. O. Hoffmann-Ostenhof (Austria), Prof. K. Linderstrøm-Lang (Denmark), Prof. K. Lohmann (Germany), Prof. R. Nicolaysen (Norway), Prof. S. Ochoa (U.S.A.), Academician A. I. Oparine (U.S.S.R.), Sir Rudolph Peters (Great Britain), Prof. J. Roche (France), Prof. A. Rossi-Fanelli (Italy), Prof. A. Virtanen (Finland) and Prof. H. G. K. Westenbrink (Netherlands). Sir Charles Harington, the former