Brown and G. W. F. Sewell (Royal Holloway College, London); Zoology, J. K. Bates (Jesus College, Oxford), P. F. Entwistle (Imperial College of Science and Technology, London), T. Huxley (Balliol College, Oxford), C. J. Duncan and E. J. Perkins (Queen Mary College, London), P. E. S. Whalley (University College of North Wales, Bangor), J. Godfrey (University of Edinburgh) and Miss L. M. C. McCartan (St. Hugh's College, Oxford); Physiography, C. Embleton (St. John's College, Cambridge) and W. A. Westgate (University of Durham).

Illuminating Engineering Society: Awards

The Illuminating Engineering Society has announced the following awards in connexion with papers presented to the Society during the past year: Leon Gaster Memorial Premium, to W. D. Chesterman (Royal Naval Scientific Service) and J. B. Collins (now at the Building Research Station, Garston) for their joint paper on problems of underwater illumination; Silver Jubilee Commemoration Award, to J. R. Wakefield (University of Nottingham) for his paper on an investigation of glare in mine lighting, and in view of the number and standard of entries submitted this year, a second award to Miss P. M. Excell (Research Laboratories, British Thomson-Houston Co., Ltd.) for a paper on illuminating calculations for installations using long linear light sources.

University of Birmingham: Appointments

Prof. A. J. Murphy, professor of industrial metallurgy in the University of Birmingham, has been appointed director of the Combined Departments of Metallurgy in succession to the late Prof. D. Hanson. The title of University Research Fellow has been conferred upon the following during the tenure of their present posts: *Physics*, Dr. F. Aughtie (Department of Scientific and Industrial Research); *Electron Physics*, Dr. G. F. Alfrey (Admiralty contract). A. J. Williams has been appointed a Research Fellow in the Department of Metallurgy.

University College of North Staffordshire

Dr. F. W. Cope, reader and head of the Department of Geology, University College of North Staffordshire, has been appointed professor of geology. The Polymer Corporation, Ltd., Sarnia, Ontario, has founded a research studentship in chemistry in the College for the support of postgraduate research on cationic polymerization under the direction of Dr. P. H. Plesch. The Blythe Colour Works, Ltd., Cresswell, North Staffordshire, has founded a fellowship in chemistry for the support of fundamental investigations into inorganic colouring matters; the first holder of the fellowship is Dr. S. C. Nyburg, assistant lecturer in the Department of Chemistry.

British Society of Rheology: Officers

At the annual general meeting of the British Society of Rheology, held at the Imperial College of Science and Technology, London, on September 25, the following officers were elected: President, Dr. L. R. G. Treloar; Honorary Secretary, Dr. P. Feltham (Flat H12, Sloane Avenue Mansions, London, S.W.3); Honorary Treasurer, Mr. N. Wookey; Honorary Editor, Mr. A. A. Milne; Northern Representative, Mr. L. Grunberg; Midland Representative, Mr. A. W. Richardson; Ordinary Members of Committee, Mr. E. B. Atkinson, Mr. D. W. Jopling, Dr. E. W. J. Mardles and Mr. W. F. O. Pollett.

British Occupational Hygiene Society: Conference in London

THE first conference of the British Occupational Hygiene Society will be held in the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, Keppel Street, London, W.C.1, on November 2, starting at 11 a.m. The conference, which is open to those who are not members of the Society on payment of a fee of 10s. 6d. (covering tea and a copy of the report), is designed to provide a common forum for the many professions, medical and non-medical, concerned with occupational hygiene. Sir Walter Monckton, Minister of Labour, will open the proceedings, and will be followed by the president of the Society, Dr. Thomas Bedford (director of the Environmental Hygiene Research Unit, Medical Research Council), who will give an address. The rest of the programme will consist of three papers, as follows: measuring the worker's environment, by S. A. Roach (dust physicist, Pneumoconiosis Research Unit, Medical Research Council); problems of chemical toxicity, by Dr. D. G. Harvey (head of the laboratories, Department for Research in Industrial Medicine, Medical Research Council); and occupational hygiene and the industrial designer, by J. E. Braham (engineering controller, Imperial Chemical Industries, Ltd.). Those who Imperial Chemical Industries, Ltd.). intend to be present at the conference should notify before October 15 the honorary secretary of the Society, Peter C. G. Isaac, Public Health Engineering Laboratory, King's College, Newcastle upon Tyne, from whom further particulars can be obtained.

Announcements

The Eddington Lecture will be given this year in Cambridge at the Arts' School, Bene't Street, Cambridge, on November 3 at 5.30 p.m. by Prof. H. H. Price, Wykeham professor of logic in the University of Oxford. The title of Prof. Price's lecture will be: "Some Aspects of the Conflict between Science and Religion".

The Leopold von Buch Medal of the German Geological Society has been awarded to Dr. W. J. Arkell, senior Research Fellow of Trinity College, Cambridge, particularly for his researches on the British Jurassic which have greatly stimulated work on the problems of Jurassic stratigraphy all over the world.

Dr. Laurence McKinley Gould, president of Carleton College, Northfield, Minnesota, who is well known as a geologist and geographer, has been appointed to the board of the United States National Science Foundation in succession to Dr. J. B. Conant, who has resigned on becoming the United States High Commissioner for Germany.

THE Chemische Gesellschaft in der Deutschen Demokratischen Republik was founded in Berlin on May 11. The officers are: Prof. E. Thilo (president); Dipl.-Ing. Kaiser (secretary); Prof. H. Bertsch (Berlin); Prof. H. Franck (Berlin); Dr. Heyder (Bitterfeld); Dr. W. Schirmer (Leuna); Prof. A. Simon (Dresden); Prof. W. Treibs (Leipzig).

THE Institute of Rural Life at Home and Overseas will hold its annual conference at High Leigh, Hoddesdon, Herts, during January 4–8 under the chairmanship of Sir John V. W. Shaw, formerly governor and commander-in-chief of Trinidad and Tobago. The conference will consist mainly of a number of lectures and discussion-group sessions. Further details can be obtained from the Secretary of the Institute at 84 Eccleston Square, London, S.W.1.