fostered by excellent textile colleges, which were integrated with research institutes and official testing houses.

The Science Museum

THE presidential address of Dr. H. Shaw, director of the Science Museum, London, to the Museums Association has been prolished in the Museums Journal of August 1949, under the title of "The Science Museum and its Public". Dr. Shaw attempts an interesting analysis of the yearly million visitors to his Museum He states that children form 25—30 per cent of the total, and affirms that the initiation of the Inildren's Gallery some twenty years ago where children are allowed to display natural exuberance is a complete success.

Institution of Civil Engineers: Awards

THE Institution of Civil Engineers has announced the following wards for papers read at meetings or published in the Journal during the session 1948-49. The special thanks of the Institution to Prof. J. F. Baker for his paper on "A Review of Recent Investigations into the Behaviour of Steel Frames in the Plastic Range", he being ineligible, as a member of council, to receive an award. Baker Gold Medal to Major-General A. C. Fewtrell, in recognition of his work in connexion with the New Hawkesbury River Railway Bridge, New South Wales, Australia. Telford Premium to Dr. F. M. Lea and Dr. Norman Davey, jointly, for their paper No. 5722, "The Deterioration of Concrete in Structures". Coopers Hill War Memorial Prize to C. B. H. Colquhoun, for his paper on "The Brabazon Assembly Hall at . Telford Premiums for papers read at meetings of the following Engineering Divisions: Road Engineering Division, R. M. Finch and R. R. W. Grigson, jointly; Railway Engineering Division, A. H. Cantrell; Structural and Building Engineering Division, P. O. Reece; Works Construction Division, H. J. B. Harding; Maritime and Waterways Engineering Division, J. A. Cashin; Airport Engineering Division, J. B. F. Hawkins. Telford Premiums for papers published in the Journal to: E. Leader-Williams and P. A. Badland, jointly: Dr. A. J. Ockleston; Prof. A. H. Jameson. Miller Prizes for papers by students of the Institution to: A. G. Preston, W. D. Coapes, J. Lindsay Smith, N. P. Roberts, P. B. Stewardson, K. A. Everard, E. W. Bennett, T. K. Chaplin. Bayliss Prizes, awarded on the results of the October 1948 and April 1949 examinations, respectively, to: K. S. L. de Fonseka and jointly to S. M. Joglekar and F. C. Speldewinde.

University of London

The following appointments in the University of London have been announced: Dr. S. Devons, to a recently instituted University chair of physics tenable at the Imperial College of Science and Technology, from January 1, 1950; and Dr. E. W. Walls, to the S.A. Courtauld chair of anatomy tenable at the Middlesex Hospital Medical School, from October 1, 1949. The title of reader in anatomy in the University has been conferred on Miss R. E. M. Bowden, in respect of the post held by her at the Royal Free Hospital School of Medicine.

The following doctorates have been conferred: D.Sc., Prof. K. J. Franklin, University professor at St. Bartholomew's Hospital Medical College; Dr. Vera Fretter (Birkbeck College); P. H. Gregory (Imperial College); D.Sc.(Eng.), H. D. Conway (Queen Mary College and Battersea Polytechnic).

Conference of the Universities of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

The 1949 Conference of the Universities of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, which has been convened by the Committee of Vice-Chancellors and Principals, will be held in the Beveridge Hall, University of London Senate House, during December 16–17. The programme consists of three sessions—one on December 16 and two on December 17—and the subjects and speakers will be, respectively: Sir Walter Moberly's book, "The Crisis in the University", Sir Walter Moberly and Prof. L. J. Russell; general education of students, Prof. F. T. H. Fletcher; place of technological education in university studies, Sir Lawrence Bragg, Sir Edward Appleton and Prof. Andrew Robertson. A printed programme, including the names of the university delegations and of specially invited guests, is in course of preparation. It is also hoped to include in this programme papers in connexion with the opening addresses. The printed programme will be distributed a few days before the Conference.

Announcements

Dr. Herman Mark, director of the Polymer Research Institute at the Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn, has been invited by the Indian National Research Council to visit India during January-Fobruary 1950 and to lecture on the scientific and practical aspects of the physics and chemistry of high polymers.

Colonel L. C. Hill has been elected president of the Institution of Mining and Metallurgy for the session 1950-51 and will take office at the annual general meeting to be held on May 18. Colonel Hill was educated at St. Lawrence College and received his technical training at the Royal School of Mines, London. He graduated as B.Sc. (London) and A.R.S.M. (Mining) in 1912, being awarded the Brough Medal, and took up a post in Spain with the Rio Tinto Co., Ltd. The whole of his subsequent professional career has been with the same company.

The Institution of Naval Architects is offering the following scholarships to British subjects, the closing date for entries being May 31, 1950, except for the Elgar scholarship for which the date is January 16, 1950. For naval architecture: the Elgar and Trewent scholarships, £175 a year, for shipyard pupils and apprentices. For marine engineering: the Parsons and Yarrow scholarships, £175 a year, for pupils and apprentices in marine-engine works; the Denny scholarship, £130 a year, tenable for four years at the University of Glasgow. Further particulars can be obtained from the Secretary of the Institution of Naval Architects, 10 Upper Belgrave Street, London, S.W.1.

The Eighteenth International Physiological Congress will be held in Copenhagen during August 15–18, 1950. Preliminary programme and registration forms will be sent out at the end of this year and will, from January 1, 1950, be obtainable from local societies of physiology, biochemistry and pharmacology or from the Bureau of the Congress at Zoofysiologisk Laboratorium, 32 Juliane Mariesvej, Copenhagen Ø. The annual meeting of the Scandinavian Pharmacological Society will take place after the Congress, during August 19–20, and members of pharmacological societies outside Scandinavia will be invited to attend this meeting.