Printer: 1948. 25 cents). It contains 124 items (6734-6857) concerning pure and applied seismology, together with lists of patents taken out in connexion with the latter. The survey is world wide. Included are important items on recent research in large-scale geophysical exploration using artificial earthquakes caused by the detonation of surplus explosives. Work by Bullard and Charlier on explosions in Germany, Gamburtsev in U.S.S.R. and J. Tuzo Wilson and others in Canada all bear on this. Papers on microseisms by Deacon, Barber and Ursell of the Admiralty Research Laboratory, Macelwane and others in America, Bernard in France, Amoros and others in Spain, Hodgson in Canada, and Jones in the Pacific area, are listed. This subject, which was at one time only an annoyance to seismologists since the microseisms confused their records of earthquakes, now has important practical meteorological and oceanographic applications.

First International Congress of Biochemistry

THE First Literational Congress of Biochemistry, initiated by the Biochemical Society, will be held in Cambridge during August 19–25 under the presidency of trof. A. C. Chibnall. The holding of this Congress marks a definite stage in the development of blockemistry as the branch of science covering that in defined territory between chemistry and the branches of biology. The need for an international congress on this subject has been evident speaking biochemists have already been organised since 1927 by the Société de Chimie Biologique. The list of distinguished chemists and biochemists who have consented to be honorary vice-presidents is truly international: Prof. J. P. Collip (Canada), Prof. N. E. Cruz-Coke (Chile), Prof. M. Florkin (Belgium), Prof. A. J. Kluyver (Netherlands), Prof. K. Linderstrøm-Lang (Denmark), Academician J. O. Parnas (U.S.S.R.), Prof. J. Roche (France) and Dr. D. D. van Slyke (United States).

The Congress lecturers will be Prof. C. F. Cori (United States), Prof. M. Florkin (Belgium) and Sir Robert Robinson (Great Britain). The Congress will be officially opened on August 19 by the president, and this ceremony will be followed in the evening by a reception by the Government, when the host will be Viscount Addison. The Congress will be divided into various sections which are numbered as follows: (1) animal nutrition and general metabolism; (2) microbiological chemistry; (3) enzymes and tissue metabolism; (4) proteins; (5) clinical biochemistry; (6) structure and synthesis of biologically important substances; (7) cytochemistry; (8) biological pigments, oxygen carriers and oxidizing catalysts; (9) hormones and steroids; (10) chemotherapy and immunochemistry; (11) plant biochemistry; (12) industrial fermentation. On August 20, to mark the occasion of the Congress, the University of Cambridge will confer the degree of honorary D.Sc. on six distinguished delegates. Various social functions, visits, etc., are being arranged during the period of the Congress. Officers of the Congress include: Treasurer, Dr. L. H. Lampitt; Joint Honorary Secretaries, Dr. E. Baldwin and Prof. F. Dickens; Hon. Organiser, Francis J. Griffin; Chairman of the Congress Committee, Sir Charles Harington; Chairman of the Executive Committee, Prof. E. C. Dodds. Further information may be obtained from the Honorary Organiser, First International Congress of Biochemistry, 56 Victoria Street, London, S.W.I.

Oil Shale and Cannel Coal Conference of the Institute of Petroleum

AFTER the first oil Shale and Cannel Coal Conference in June 1938, it was resolved that the Institute of Petroleum should consider the question of holding a similar conference within the next ten years. This has not been possible, owing to the War; but 1950 is the ontenary year of the James Young patent which led to the foundation of the Scottish shale oil industry, and it is therefore proposed to convene the second Conference on Oil Shale and Cannel Coal to meet in Glasgow during the week commencing July 3, 1950. At the same time the Young centenary will be celebrated by a Young Memorial Lecture. The technical sessions of the Conference will be in three sections, as follows: A-geology and mining; Bretorting, refining and uses of by-products; Ceconomics and statistics. An all-day visit to a shale mine and shale-oil refinery will be a feature of the Conference. Further information can be obtained from the Secretary of the Institute of Petroleum, 26 Portland Place, London, W.1.

Beit Memorial Junior Fellowships for Medical Research

It has recently been announced that Beit Memorial junior fellowships for medical research (normal value $\pounds 600$ per annum) have been awarded as follows: D. V. Bates (Cambridge), to carry out research on respiratory functions, at the Dunn Laboratory, St. Bartholomew's Hospital, London; D. B. Carlisle (Oxford), to study the mechanism of the production of the anterior pituitary hormones, at the Department of Zoology and Comparative Anatomy, University of Oxford; Dr. B. Cinader (London), to investigate the formation of multiple antibodies to a single antigen and to examine their properties, at the Lister Institute of Preventive Medicine, London; Dr. J. T. Davies (London), to investigate the nature of the excitation of living cells by examining the closely similar case of built-up films of materials which recent work suggests to be responsible for the permeability of cell walls, at the Royal Institution; D. T. Elmore (London), to examine the hydrolysates of nucleic acids, at the University Chemical Laboratory, Cambridge; Dr. A. S. Jones (Birmingham), to study the immunochemistry of bacterial nucleic acid complexes, at the A. E. Hills Laboratories, Chemistry Department, University of Birmingham; June Lascelles (Sydney), to study the metabolic function of folic acid and para-aminobenzoic acid, at the Department of Biochemistry, University of Oxford; E. Reid (Aberdeen), to study the pituitary growth hormone in relation to metabolic processes, at the School of Biochemistry, University of Cambridge; B. D. Wyke (Sydney), to carry out quantitative studies on the electrical activity of the brain in patients with various types of central nervous system disorders of both organic and functional type, at the Department of Surgery, University of Oxford and Radcliffe Infirmary, Oxford.

DR. EDWIN HOBBLE, of Mount Wilson Observatory, and Dr. B. Lindblad, director of the Stockholm Observators, have been elected correspondants for the Section Astronomy, and M. Léon Moret, professor of geology in the University of Grenoble, correspondant for the Section of Mineralogy, of the Paris Academy of Sciences.