News and Views

Award of the Mueller Medal to Dr. R. J. Tillyard, F.R.S.

THE Mueller Medal of the Australian and New Zealand Association for the Advancement of Science was presented to Dr. R. J. Tillyard, Chief Commonwealth Entomologist, at the recent annual meeting of the Royal Society of Australia held at Canberra. This medal, which was established in 1896 by a group of scientific workers in Victoria, commemorates the services to Australia of Baron Ferdinand von Mueller, and is the premier award in the gift of Australian men of science. According to the Canberra Times, Dr. A. B. Walkom, general secretary of the Australian and New Zealand Association, made the presentation. In his address, he recalled the names of previous recipients of the Mueller Medal, among whom have been J. H. Maiden, Leonard Cockayne, W. Howchin, Sir Douglas Mawson, Sir Edgeworth David and Prof. Wood Jones. Dr. Tillyard, he said, has many notable investigations to his credit; in particular, he has studied the biology of the dragonflies, the wing venation of insects and the determination and classification of fossil insects. He has also published a valuable and comprehensive textbook on the insects of Australia and New Zealand. Dr. Tillyard's work in entomology, in both New Zealand and Australia, has been of outstanding value, establishing principles and facts of wide interest and great importance.

Presentation to Sir Denison Ross

At the recent annual anniversary general meeting of the Royal Asiatic Society, Sir Denison Ross, director of the School of Oriental Studies, London, was presented with the Triennial Gold Medal for his work in forwarding Oriental research during the period concerned. The presentation was made by H.E. The Iranian Minister, a very happy arrangement as a great deal of Sir Denison Ross's time has been devoted to the study of the Persian language and Iranian dialects. He was the guest of the Iranian Government on the occasion of the festivities held in Iran, in honour of the millenary of Firdausi, the national poet of Persia. The gold medal trust was founded in 1897 to commemorate the Diamond Jubilee of Queen Victoria. The selection of the recipient is made by a special committee appointed by the president and council of the Royal Asiatic Society for the purpose, from among their number. The previous recipients have included Prof. E. B. Cowell, E. W. West, Sir William Pope, V. A. Smith, A. H. Sayce, D. S. Margoliouth and Sir Aurel Stein. In mentioning some of Sir Denison's services, the Iranian Minister dwelt on his love of Persian studies and his constant travel in the East. He thought that Sir Denison must own a special kind of magic carpet from the "Arabian Nights", for he attended the Firdausi celebrations in Teheran and elsewhere, but was able to reach London in time for Firdausi week here. His studies had kept alight the torch of Oriental learning in England and India.

U.S. National Academy: Elections and Awards

It is announced by Science Service, Washington, D.C., that the following have been elected members of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences: Dr. N. L. Bowen, Carnegie Institution of Washington, geologist; Dr. C. M. Child, the University of Chicago, zoologist; Dr. G. E. Coghill, Wistar Institute, Philadelphia, chemist; Dr. James Ewing, Memorial Hospital, New York City, pathologist; Dr. M. L. Fernald, Gray Herbarium, Cambridge, Mass., botanist; Dr. Harvey Fletcher, Bell Telephone Laboratories, New York City, physicist; Dr. Ross Aiken Gortner, University of Minnesota, chemist; Dr. E. A. Hooton, Harvard University, anthropologist; Dr. J. C. Hunsaker, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, aerodynamist; Dr. Walter S. Hunter, Clark University, psychologist; Dr. Dunham Jackson, University of Minnesota, mathematician; Dr. Chester R. Longwell, Yale University, geologist; Dr. H. C. Urey, Columbia University, chemist; Dr. J. H. Van Vleck, Harvard University, physicist. New foreign associates of the Academy are: Dr. J. S. Haldane, director of the Mining Research Laboratory and honorary professor in the University of Birmingham, and Dr. Jules Bordet, director of the Pasteur Institute, Brussels. Dr. Frank R. Lillie has been elected president of the National Academy of Sciences for a term of four years. He is dean of the division of biological sciences at the University of Chicago and president of the Woods Hole, Mass., Marine Biological Laboratory.

The following awards have been made by the National Academy of Sciences: Public Welfare Medal to Prof. August Vollmer, of the University of California, for his work in police administration; Daniel Giraud Elliot Medal to Dr. James P. Chaplin, of the American Museum of Natural History, for his work on the birds of the Belgian Congo; Henry Draper Medal for astronomy to Dr. J. S. Plaskett, director of the Astrophysical Laboratory at Victoria, British Columbia; and Agassiz Medal for oceanography to Prof. Haakon Rasberg Gran, of Oslo.

"Backward Tracts" in the India Bill

Further consideration was given to the position of the aboriginal tribes under the provisions of the India Bill in Committee of the House of Commons on May 9 and 13, when an amendment to Clause 6 was moved by Mr. Cadogan (Finchley, U.) proposing the extension and modification of the excluded and partially excluded areas named in the schedule thereto. The "anthropologists", as Mr. Winston Churchill happily termed the supporters of the amendment, urged with vigour the necessity for a much wider application of the principle of exclusion, by which jungle and hill peoples living under tribal conditions remain outside the jurisdiction and administration of the Provincial Governments and are