News and Views

New Fellows of the Royal Society

THE following have been selected by the Council for election to the fellowship of the Royal Society :--Mr. A. S. Besicovitch, Cayley lecturer in mathematics, University of Cambridge; Prof. W. E. Curtis, professor of physics, Armstrong College, Newcastle-on-Tyne; Dr. L. L. Fermor, director of the Geological Survey of India; Dr. Paul Fildes, research bacteriologist, London Hospital; Dr. R. T. Grant, lecturer in cardiac pathology, University College Hospital Medical School, London; Mr. M. A. C. Hinton, deputy keeper of zoology, British Museum (Natural History); Dr. E. L. Hirst, senior lecturer in organic chemistry, University of Birmingham; Dr. E. L. Kennaway, director of the research laboratory, Cancer Hospital, London; Mr. A. G. M. Mitchell, consulting engineer, Melbourne; Prof. W. A. Parks, professor of geology and head of Geology Department, University of Toronto; Prof. H. Raistrick, professor of biochemistry, University of London; Prof. A. O. Rankine, professor of physics, Imperial College of Science, London; Lieut.-Col. R. B. Seymour Sewell, leader of the John Murray Expedition to the Arabian Sea, and director in 1925-33 of the Zoological Survey of India, Calcutta; Prof. S. Sugden, professor of physical chemistry, Birkbeck College, London; Mr. William Taylor, mechanical engineer, managing director of Messrs. Taylor, Taylor and Hobson Ltd., Leicester; Dr. H. Hamshaw Thomas, University lecturer in botany, University of Cambridge; Rev. Alfred Young, mathematician, rector of Birdbrook,

New Fellows of the Royal Society of Edinburgh

At the ordinary meeting of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, held on March 5, H.R.H. the Duke of York was elected an honorary fellow. The following ordinary fellows were also elected: Dr. D. Bain, lecturer in technical chemistry, University of Edinburgh; Dr. P. Brough, lecturer in botany, University of Sydney; Prof. I. de Burgh Daly, department of physiology, University of Edinburgh; Dr. F. F. Darling, chief officer of the Imperial Bureau of Animal Genetics, University of Edinburgh; Prof. D. R. Dow, Department of Anatomy, University of St. Andrews (University College, Dundee); Mr. W. L. Edge, lecturer in mathematics, University of Edinburgh; Dr. I. M. H. Etherington, lecturer in mathematics, University of Edinburgh; Mr. G. Fraser, chartered civil engineer; Prof. J. Glaister, Department of Forensic Medicine, University of Glasgow; Dr. R. M. Gorrie, Forest Research Institute, Dehra Dun, U.P., India; Mr. D. Haldane, senior geologist, H.M. Geological Survey (Scotland), Edinburgh; Dr. J. V. Harrison, geologist, Glasgow; Mr. J. Jeffrey, Under-Secretary of State for Scotland, Edinburgh; Sir William Johnston, Deputy Keeper of the Signet; Dr. R. Cranston Low, formerly lecturer in dermatology, University of Edinburgh; Brigadier-General Magnus Mowat, secretary of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers, London; Mr. W. G. R.

Murray, technical assistant, Department of Chemistry, University of Edinburgh; Prof. A. R. Normand, Department of Chemistry, Wilson College, Bombay; Prof. R. K. Pal, Department of Physiology, Prince of Wales Medical College, Patna, India; Dr. H. J. Plenderleith, Research Laboratory, British Museum, London; Dr. D. E. Rutherford, Carnegie Teaching Fellow in mathematics, United College, University of St. Andrews; Capt. H. K. Salvesen, shipowner, Edinburgh, formerly fellow of New College, Oxford, 1923-28, and lecturer in economics; Dr. M. S. Thomson, physician for diseases of the skin, King's College Hospital, Belgrave Hospital for Children, London: Dr. J. Weir, lecturer in paleontology, University of Glasgow; Mr. W. Whyte, cashier and general manager, Royal Bank of Scotland, Edinburgh; Dr. W. P. D. Wightman, science master, Edinburgh Academy; Prof. B. M. Wilson, Department of Mathematics, University of St. Andrews (University College, Dundee); Dr. A. Winstanley, engineer to Safety in Mines Research Board, Edin-

Sir James Jeans: President of the British Association

On account of the lamented death of Sir William Hardy, it became necessary to elect a new president of the British Association for the meeting to be held at Aberdeen in September next. The General Committee of the Association, which met for this purpose on Friday, March 2, elected Sir James Jeans to this office, and we understand that he has accepted the invitation to serve. It is scarcely too much to say that no man of science now living is better known than he is to intelligent readers—both scientific and lay—through his brilliant expositions of complicated physical and mathematical conceptions. These rare qualities have enabled him to open new realms of thought and inquiry to philosophers as well as experimentalists, and also to interest laymen in the development of ideas relating to the universe. These involve explanations of relativity, quantum and wave mechanics and other novel aspects of cosmogony with their philosophical implications. In literary style and scientific substance these works are among the best of their type ever produced; and their widespread circulation is a gratifying sign of public interest in intricate scientific subjects when made intelligible by artistic expression. What renders Sir James Jeans unique, however, is that he should possess this gift and at the same time be a leading authority in the field of mathematical physics and the author of those substantial contributions to the dynamical theory of gases and the mathematical theory of electricity and magnetism and dynamical astronomy, which led to his election into the Royal Society in 1906 and the award of a Royal medal in 1919. We may confidently anticipate that his presidential address to the British Association will enrich the literature of science and be worthy of the intellectual outlook of the great university and city in which it will be delivered.